The Passionate Pilgrim

01/01/1599View on timeline

The Passionate Pilgrim (1599) is an anthology of 20 poems collected and published by William Jaggard that were attributed to "W. Shakespeare" on the title page, only five of which are considered authentically Shakespearean. These are two sonnets, later to be published in the 1609 collection of Shakespeare's Sonnets, and three poems extracted from the play Love's Labour's Lost. Internal and external evidence contradicts the title page attribution to Shakespeare. Five were attributed to other poets during his lifetime, and two were published in other collections anonymously. While most critics disqualify the rest as not Shakespearean on stylistic grounds, stylometric analysis by Ward Elliott and Robert Valenza put two blocks of the poems (4, 6, 7 and 9, and 10, 12, 13 and 15) within Shakespeare's stylistic boundaries. Jaggard later published an augmented edition with poems he knew to be by Thomas Heywood.

Title page of The Passionate Pilgrim (1599)



No comments avaliable.



Published in 18/09/2018

Updated in 19/02/2021

All events in the topic Selected poems:

Invalid DateA Lover's ComplaintA Lover's Complaint
Invalid DateShakespeare's sonnetsShakespeare's sonnets
Invalid DateThe Phoenix and the TurtleThe Phoenix and the Turtle
Invalid DateThe Rape of LucreceThe Rape of Lucrece
Invalid DateThe Passionate PilgrimThe Passionate Pilgrim
Invalid DateVenus and Adonis (Shakespeare poem)Venus and Adonis (Shakespeare poem)